Accept | Artist

Accept | Artist

Tags: Era_1970s, Genre_Metal, Origin_Germany, Type_Artist

Accept is a German heavy metal band formed 1971 in Solingen by Udo Dirkschneider (vocals), Jan Komet (guitar), Michael Wagener (guitar), Dieter "Rubi" Rubach (bass), and Frank Friedrich (drums). They were one of the first speed/thrash metal bands on the European scene. Initially called Band X they changed their name to Accept and issued a self-titled debut album in 1979 which was not successful. By that time new guitarist Wolff Hoffmann had joined and he remains in the band to the present day. Their reputation rests largely on a string of four excellent albums issued between 1981-85: Breaker, Restless and Wild, Balls to the Wall, and Metal Heart. Following that the quality of their albums dropped off until they kicked back with another strong release in Blood of the Nations from 2010. Udo Dirkschneider was fired from the band, and later decided to embark on a solo career. Supporting this decision, the songwriting team in Accept wrote his entire solo album, released in 1987 as Animal House under the band moniker U.D.O. The band then underwent constant lineup changes, including the reinstatement of Dirkschneider, and they continue to perform and record to the present day.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Accept

Related Artists: Udo Dirkschneider

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page