Death Cab For Cutie | Artist

Death Cab For Cutie | Artist

Tags: Era_1990s, Genre_Indie, Origin_USA, Type_Artist

Death Cab for Cutie is an American alternative rock band, formed 1997 in Bellingham, Washington, by Ben Gibbard (guitar, keyboard, vocals), Nick Harmer (bass), Chris Walla (guitar), and Nathan Good (drums). The band was originally a solo project by Gibbard who recorded a solo demo cassette before joining with his fellow Western Washington University students to form the band Death Cab for Cutie, which is named after a song by The Bonzo Dog Band. Chris Walla left the band in 2014 and Dave Depper (guitar, keyboard, vocals) and Zac Rae (guitar) joined in 2016. To-date the band has released 11 consistently good studio albums. Their indie-pop style is defined by unusual instrumentation marked by Gibbard's distinctive voice and lyrical delivery. Their fifth album, 2003's Transatlanticism, was their most critically acclaimed work and brought them mainstream exposure and commercial success. Other standout albums include We Have the Facts and We're Voting Yes, The Photo Album, Plans and Live 2012 which was recorded with the Magik*Magik Orchestra. Gibbard also had a side project band called The Postal Service who recorded the excellent Give Up album in 2003.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Death Cab for Cutie

Related Artists: The Postal Service, Ben Gibbard

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page