Destruction Unit | Artist

Destruction Unit | Artist

Tags: Era_2000s, Genre_Psych, Genre_Punk, Origin_USA, Type_Artist

Destruction Unit is an American noise rock band formed 2000 in Phoenix, Arizona, by Ryan Rousseau (keyboards, vocals), Rusty Rousseau (bass), JS Aurelius (guitar), Andrew Flores (drums), Nick Nappa (guitar), Jay Reatard (guitar, vocals) and Alicja Trout (guitar, vocals). The band started as a loose project around the Yuma-based Rousseau brothers who attracted fellow garage punk fifteen year old Jimmy Lindsay aka Jay Reatard and Steve Albundy, who formed a band called The Reatards. In 2004 Memphis punk Alicja Trout joined and they recorded the thrash-synth album Self Destruction of a Man, under the band name Destruction Unit. That lineup recorded a disappointing second album Death to the Old Flesh, before Jay Reatard and Alicja Trout departed in 2006 to form new band Lost Sounds. Reatard was to carry on with Lost Sounds, The Reatards and other solo projects before dying of cocaine and alcohol toxicity in 2010. Destruction Unit carried on as a five piece and honed their sound to include more ambient and psychedelic elements. The band has released eight studio albums, standouts include Self Destruction of a Man, Eclipse, Sonoran, Negative Feedback Resistor and Live in San Francisco.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Destruction Unit

Related Artists: Jay Reatard, Lost Sounds, Alicja Trout, Reatards

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page