Died Pretty | Artist

Died Pretty | Artist

Tags: Era_1980s, Gender_Male, Genre_Indie, Genre_Psych, Origin_Australia, Type_Artist

Died Pretty was an Australian alternative rock band founded 1983 in Sydney by mainstays, Ron Peno (lead vocals) and Brett Myers (guitar, vocals). Peno was previously with Brisbane band The Screaming Tribesmen. Rob Younger from Radio Birdman was involved early on with the band and produced their first singles, their excellent EPs and the 1986 debut album Free Dirt on the Citadel label. The band reached its creative peak with their excellent fourth album Doughboy Hollow which was released '91 on Blue Mosque and Beggars Banquet internationally. It contained the singles "Stop Myself", "D.C." and "Sweetheart", and despite being critically hailed as "near-perfect pop" didn't achieve mainstream chart success, but remains a cult classic. The band split in 2002 after recording eight studio albums and a string of excellent EPs and Singles. Outstanding albums include Free Dirt, Lost, Every Brilliant Eye, Doughboy Hollow and the 1992 compilation Pre Deity which brings together their early EPs.

Artist Website: died-pretty.com

Featured Albums: Died Pretty

Related Artists: The Darling Downs, Clouds, The Screaming Tribesmen, The Whitlams, Radio Birdman

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page