Dr Feelgood | Artist

Dr Feelgood | Artist

Tags: Era_1970s, Genre_Pop_Rock, Genre_Punk, Origin_UK, Type_Artist

Dr. Feelgood is a British pub rock band formed 1971 in Canvey Island, Essex, by Wilco Johnson (guitar), Lee Brilleaux (vocals, harmonica), John B. Sparks (bass) and John Martin (drums). The band came out of the London pub-rock circuit and their sound was characterised by Wilco's choppy guitar style, their energetic vocals, short sharp songs, and a very tight rhythm section, making them forerunners of the Punk rock sound which peaked in '77. Wilco left after their third album Stupidity went to the top of the UK charts. Wilco was replaced by John "Gypie" Mayo but the band was never quite the same again. Wilco played with Ian Dury & The Blockheads then went on to have a successful career as a soloist and actor. Outstanding Dr Feelgood albums include Down by the Jetty, Malpractice, Stupidity and Be Seeing You. A film by Julien Temple about the early days of the band, Oil City Confidential, premiered at the London Film Festival on 22 October 2009.

Artist Website: drfeelgood.org

Featured Albums: Dr Feelgood

Related Artists: The Count Bishops, Wilko Johnson, Doctor Feelgood

Video Clips: Live at Southend, Back in the Night, Roxette

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page