Drive-By Truckers | Artist

Drive-By Truckers | Artist

Tags: Era_1990s, Gender_Male, Genre_Country, Genre_Pop_Rock, Origin_USA, Type_Artist

Drive-By Truckers is an American alternative country/Southern rock band formed 1996 in Athens, Georgia, by Mike Cooley (lead vocals, guitar, banjo) and Patterson Hood (lead vocals, guitar) who had performed previously as a duo. They added Adam Howell (bass, vocals), Matt Lane (drums), John Neff (pedal steel), Barry Sell (mandolin) and Rob Malone (guitar, vocals) to the early lineup. The band reveres the music of legendary southern rockers Lynyrd Skynyrd and present a similar three-guitar front line. Their excellent third album Southern Rock Opera weaves the history of Lynyrd Skynyrd into a narrative about a fictitious rock band called Betamax Guillotine. following the departure of Rob Malone in late 2001, the band added fellow Alabamian guitarist and songwriter Jason Isbell to their line-up as the band's third guitarist. During his five years with Drive-By Truckers, Isbell's compositions became as highly praised as those of Cooley and Hood. With Isbell on-board the band produced some of their best work, including the superb albums Decoration Day (2003) and The Dirty South (2004). Isbell left in 2007 to pursue a successful solo career. Drive-By Truckers has become one of America's most accomplished and best loved southern rock bands and, to-date, has released a total of 13 studio albums. Standouts include Southern Rock Opera, Decoration Day, The Dirty South, Brighter Than Creation's Dark and It's Great to be Alive!

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Drive-By Truckers

Related Artists: Muscle Shoals Rhythm Section, Jason Isbell

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page