Electrelane | Artist

Electrelane | Artist

Tags: Era_2000s, Gender_Female, Genre_Indie, Origin_UK, Type_Artist

Electrelane was an English indie rock band, formed 1998 in Brighton, UK, by Verity Susman (vocals, guitar, keyboards, sax) and Emma Gaze (drums). The duo recruited Debbie Ball (guitar) and Tracy Houdek (bass) to complete the initial lineup. After lineup changes Mia Clarke (guitar) and Ros Murray (bass) became new permanent members. Their music drew from wide range of influences including Neu!, Stereolab, Sonic Youth, and the Velvet Underground. During their existence the band attracted a strong cult following based on their musicianship and strong feminist and political views. Their debut album, Rock it to the Moon, was released in April 2001. The album was mostly instrumental and drew comparisons with Krautrock and bands such as Stereolab. For their second album The Power Out in 2004, they brought in renowned producer Steve Albini and the result was an excellent album that added vocals and structure to the songs, giving them almost pop-like vibes. The album was widely recognised and praised as critics appreciated the added complexity and vocals on their new work. They released two further albums, Axes in 2005 and No Shouts No Calls in 2007, plus a number of excellent singles including "Film Music", "On Parade", This Deed" and "Two For Joy". The band took an extended break in 2007 and reformed in 2011 for some UK festival dates and an Australian tour. As of 2012 the band has been inactive.

Artist Website: electrelane.com

Featured Albums: Electrelane

Related Artists: Mia Clarke

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page