Godspeed You! Black Emperor | Artist

Godspeed You! Black Emperor | Artist

Tags: Era_1990s, Gender_Male, Genre_Post_Rock, Origin_Canada, Type_Artist

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is a Canadian experimental music collective formed 1994 in Montreal, Quebec. The founding members are Efrim Menuck (guitar), Mike Moya (guitar) and Mauro Pezzente (bass). There are nine members in all, including a film projectionist. Among their many side-projects is the group Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra. The group has a strong cult following and is influential in the post-rock genre. The albums F#A# Infinity and Lift Yr. Skinny Fists Like Antennas to Heaven! are masterpieces of post-rock. Other outstanding albums include Yanqui U.X.O., 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!, and Slow Riot for New Zerø Kanada EP. The band name comes from an obscure Japanese documentary film.

Artist Website: brainwashed.com/godspeed

Featured Albums: Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Related Artists: GY!BE, A Silver Mt Zion, Thee Silver Mt Zion

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page