Gorki | Artist

Gorki | Artist

Tags: Era_1990s, Gender_Male, Genre_Indie, Origin_Belgium, Type_Artist

Gorki was a Belgian rock group formed 1989 in Gent, Flanders, by Luc De Vos (vocals, guitar), Wout De Schutter (bass) and Geert Bonne (drums). Upon De Vos' death in 2014 he was the sole original member in the band. The final lineup was De Vos, Luc Heyvaerts (keyboard, clarinet), Erik Van Biesen (bass), Thomas Vanelslander (guitar) and Bert Huysentruyt (drums). At their peak, the band had three number one hits in the Studio Brussel alternative chart: "Lieve kleine piranha" (1992), "Schaduw in de schemering" (2004) and "Joerie" (2006). Over a ten year period, starting with the release of their debut album in 1992, the band had a remarkable run of six excellent studio albums released back-to-back: Gorky, Hij Leeft, Monstertje, Ik ben aanwezig, Eindelijk vakantie! and Vooruitgang. They went on to release two live albums and four further studio albums which, while of a very high standard, couldn't quite recapture the magic of their earlier releases. As the band sang in Flemish, it was difficult for them to extend their popularity to audiences outside their home country. De Vos had a side-project called Automatic Buffalo which released one album in 2001, also De Vos released a solo album in 2010.

Artist Website: gorki.be

Featured Albums: Gorki

Related Artists: Luc De Vos, Arid

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page