IDLES | Artist

IDLES | Artist

Tags: Era_2010s, Gender_Male, Genre_Post_Punk, Origin_UK, Type_Artist

Idles is a British rock band formed 2009 in Bristol, UK, by Joe Talbot (vocals), Mark Bowen (guitar, vocals), Adam Devonshire (bass), Jon Beavis (drums) and Andy Stewart (guitar). Lee Kiernan (guitar) replaced Andy Stewart in 2015. Talbot and Devonshire were schoolboy friends and they started a band when they both attended the University of West England. Although their music was self-confessed "fucking terrible", they went on to open the Bat-Cave Night Club in Bristol. After some promising Singles and EP's, the band released their first album, Brutalism, in March 2017 to critical acclaim. Their second album, the excellent Joy as an Act of Resistance, came out in 2018. Although the band refuses to be categorised, their style blends the rawness and immediacy of punk, with the repetitive driving industrial sounds of post punk, which some reviewers have even likened to Nine Inch Nails. In 2019, the band were nominated for Best Breakthrough Act at the 2019 Brit Awards and later won the 2019 Kerrang! Award for Best British Breakthrough Act. Also in 2019 Joy as an Act of Resistance was shortlisted for the 2019 Mercury Prize. To-date they have released two excellent studio albums and the equally excellent live album A Beautiful Thing: IDLES Live at Le Bataclan. Their upcoming third studio album Toneland is one of the most eagerly awaited releases scheduled for late 2020.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Idles

Video Clips: Danny Nedelko, Tiny Desk Concert, Mother

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page