Mercyful Fate | Artist

Mercyful Fate | Artist

Tags: Era_1980s, Gender_Male, Genre_Metal, Origin_Denmark, Type_Artist

Mercyful Fate is a Danish heavy metal band formed 1981 in Copenhagen by vocalist King Diamond and guitarist Hank Shermann. The first stable lineup also included Carsten van der Volsing (guitar, 1981), Timi Hansen (bass), Michael Denner (guitar) and Kim Ruzz (drums). Influenced by progressive rock and hard rock, and with lyrics dealing with Satan and the occult, Mercyful Fate were part of the first wave of black metal in the early to mid-1980s, along with Venom and Bathory. The band's first two albums, Melissa (1983) and Don't Break the Oath (1984) are regarded as classics of the black metal genre. The band then broke up in 1985, with King Diamond, along with Michael Denner and Timi Hansen, forming the eponymous King Diamond band, which continues successfully to the present day. In 1993, King Diamond, Hank Shermann, Michael Denner and Timi Hansen reunited to reform Mercyful Fate (drummer Kim Ruzz was replaced by Morten Nielsen). The result was the album In The Shadows, which featured a guest appearance by Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich (a fellow Dane), on the track "Return of the Vampire." The band continues periodically and has released a total of 7 studio albums to-date. Standout albums include Melissa, Don't Break the Oath, In The Shadows and Time. The 1987 compilation The beginning is also recommended. Frontman King Diamond also releases solo albums under his own name as well as under the band name King Diamond. The present day lineup of the band is Diamond and Shermann plus Sharlee D'Angelo (bass), Bob Lance (drums) and Mike Wead (guitar).

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Mercyful Fate

Related Artists: King Diamond

Video Clips: Live Dynamo 83, Evil, Witches' Dance

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page