Propaganda | Artist

Propaganda | Artist

Tags: Era_1980s, Genre_Electronic, Genre_New_Wave, Origin_Germany, Type_Artist

Propaganda are a German synthpop group formed 1982 in Dusseldorf by Andreas Thein (keyboards) and Ralf Dörper (keyboards). They were one of the initial roster of acts signed to Trevor Horn's ZTT label, between 1984-86, when they released the critically acclaimed album A Secret Wish. Thein and Dörper were active in the German punk/new wave scene when Susanne Freytag joined them as a vocalist. Their first project was a pop version of the Throbbing Gristle single "Disziplin." After this Claudia Brücken (vocals) and member of the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra, Michael Mertens (percussion), were recruited to complete the group. Mertens remained the 'invisible' fifth member, responsible for percussion and programming. The band then relocated to the UK and released its first single "Dr Mabuse (A Paranoid Fantasy) b/w Dr Mabuse (Der Spieler)" in the Spring of 1984, which was a popular and critical success. However, due to the success that label ZTT was experiencing with Frankie Goes To Hollywood, a follow-up single "Duel" would not appear for another 13 months, which prompted the departure of Andreas Thein. From this point, Michael Mertens became an official member of the band. July 1985 saw the release of the band's debut album, A Secret Wish which received considerable critical acclaim and some commercial success, reaching number 16 on the UK Album Chart. The group then embarked on their "Outside World" tour, taking in Europe and America. They were joined by ex-Simple Minds members Derek Forbes (bass), Brian McGee (drums), and Kevin Armstrong (guitar). A remix album, Wishful Thinking was released, then a third album 1234 was belatedly released in 1990. The band split and reformed many times in the ensuing years and have remained a cult favourite with new wave/electronic dance audiences. Standout albums include A Secret Wish, Wishful Thinking, and the Outside World compilation from 2002.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Propaganda

Related Artists: Claudia Brucken, Ralf Dorper, Simple Minds

Video Clips: Dream Within a Dream, Duel, Dr Mabuse

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page