Sonic Youth |  Artist

Sonic Youth | Artist

The Ultimate Online Record Collection

Sonic Youth was an American rock band formed 1981 in New York City by Thurston Moore (guitar), Kim Gordon (bass) and Lee Ranaldo (guitar). Steve Shelley followed a series of short-term drummers in 1985 and rounded out the core line-up. Improvisational musician Jim O'Rourke was also a guest member between 2000-05. The band emerged from the experimental no wave art and music scene in New York, together with artists such as Glenn Branca, before evolving into a more conventional rock band and becoming the most prominent of the American noise rock groups. Their first two albums generated some good reviews but by their third Bad Moon Rising (1985) the band had developed a coherent sound. The following five albums: EVOL, Sister, Daydream Nation, Goo and Dirty, released between 1986-92 are all noise rock masterpieces. Following this creative run, the band's recorded output was somewhat patchy but they released three more excellent albums: Washing Machine (1995), Murray Street (2002) and Sonic Nurse (2004), before splitting in November 2011 when the marriage of Moore and Gordon ended.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: Sonic Youth

Related Artists: Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Jim O'Rourke, Glenn Branca

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page