Tex Perkins |  Artist

Tex Perkins | Artist

The Ultimate Online Record Collection

Gregory Stephen "Tex" Perkins is an Australian singer-songwriter born 1964 in Darwin, Northern Territory. In addition to his solo work Perkins ia a member of blues-rock bands Beasts of Bourbon and The Cruel Sea, as well as working on other side projects. Coming from a short-lived "cowpunk" outfit, Tex formed the Sydney-based trio Thug in 1976, and recorded two albums. Beasts of Bourbon then formed in 1983, with original lineup of Perkins (vocal, guitar), Spencer P Jones (guitar), James Baker (drums), Kim Salmon (guitar) and Boris Sudjovic (bass). The "Beasts" have released nine studio albums, the latest being in 2019. The Cruel Sea formed in 1987 with Ken Gormley (bass), Jim Elliot (drums), Danny Rumour (guitar) and James Cruikshank (keyboard, guitar). In 1989 Perkins (their then lighting technician) started joining them onstage and contributed to the recording of each of their six studio albums. In 1993 Tex got together with Don Walker from Cold Chisel and guitarist Charlie Owen to form Tex, Don & Charlie. That trio has released four studio albums which all have charted in the ARIA top 100. As a soloist, Perkins has released seven studio albums, either under his own name or in collaboration with backing bands Dark Horses and Band of Gold. Standout albums include Tex Perkins and the Band of Gold, Dark Horses, Sweet Nothing, and Tex Perkins & The Dark Horses.

Artist Website: texperkins.net.au

Featured Albums: Tex Perkins

Related Artists: Cruel Sea, Beasts of Bourbon, Tex Don & Charlie

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page