The Flower Kings | Artist

The Flower Kings | Artist

Tags: Era_1990s, Gender_Male, Genre_Prog, Origin_Sweden, Type_Artist

The Flower Kings are a Swedish progressive rock band formed 1994 in Uppsala by guitarist and singer-songwriter Roine Stolt. The group began as Stolt's touring band to support his third solo album The Flower King. The first lineup included Tomas Bodin (keyboards, piano), Jaime Salazar (drums), Michael Stolt (bass) and Hasse Bruniusson (percussion). Hasse Fröberg (vocals, guitar) joined in 1994 and is still in the present say lineup. The band plays symphonic style progressive rock with elements of free improvisation, with similarities to earlier prog bands such as Yes and King Crimson. The band has released 19 studio albums to-date plus several live albums, standouts include Back in the World of Adventures, Retropolis, Stardust We Are, Flower Power, Space Revolver, Banks of Eden, plus the 2003 live set Meet The Flower Kings. Roine Stolt's solo album The Flower King (1994) is also highly recommended. Outside his group and solo work, Stolt participates with many fellow-minded prog music projects including Transatlantic with Neal Morse, The Tangent with Andy Tillison, and the Swedish band Kaipa. In the late 80's Roine Stolt started his own publishing and recording label called Foxtrot Music after the Genesis album of the same name. The Flower Kings' keyboardist Tomas Bodin also has a number of solo albums and side-projects to his name.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: The Flower Kings

Related Artists: Roine Stolt, 3rd World Electric, Agents of Mercy, Transatlantic, Kaipa, Tomas Bodin, Karmakanic

Video Clips: The Truth Will Set You Free, Cosmic Lover, Hit me With a Hit

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page