The Rubinoos | Artist

The Rubinoos | Artist

Tags: Era_1970s, Genre_Pop_Rock, Origin_USA, Type_Artist

The Rubinoos is an American power pop band formed 1970 in Berkeley, California by Jon Rubin (vocals, guitar) and Tommy Dunbar (guitar, keyboards, vocals). The earliest lineup also included Don Spindt (drums) and Greg Keranen (bass). They are best known for their singles "I Think We're Alone Now", "I Wanna Be Your Boyfriend", and for the theme song to the 1984 film Revenge of the Nerds. Tommy's brother Robbie was guitarist for another local band Earth Quake, and The Rubinoos got their start by supporting Earth Quake at concerts. The band was soon signed to Beserkley Records, alongside label mates Greg Kihn Band and Jonathan Richman. Bassist Keranen would later leave The Rubinoos to join Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers. The band released two strong power-pop albums before splitting in 1985. In 1999 they re-formed and recorded the excellent comeback album Paleophonic. The Rubinoos have gone on to record 11 studio albums and are still actively playing. Outstanding releases include The Rubinoos, Back to the Drawing Board, Paleophonic and Twist Pop Sin.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: The Rubinoos

Related Artists: Jonathan Richman

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page