The Sand Pebbles | Artist

The Sand Pebbles | Artist

Tags: Era_2000s, Genre_Indie, Genre_Psych, Origin_Australia, Type_Artist

The Sand Pebbles is an Australian Indie Psych band formed 2001 in Melbourne by Christopher Hollow (bass), Ben Michael (guitar), Piet Collins (drums) and Andrew Tanner (vocals, guitar). Prior to forming the band Hollow, Michael and Collins were screenwriters for the sit-com Neighbours, and Tanner joined from his former band Seven Stories. The band plays psychedelic jangle-pop with strong vocal harmonies with echoes of '60s West Coast psych-pop band Moby Grape. The band has released six consistently excellent studio albums to-date. The debut album Eastern Terrace received promising reviews, but it was the next album Ghost Transmission that attracted critical acclaim. Over the next thirteen years they released only four more albums, culminating in 2017's superb Pleasure Maps. Now days the band gets together sporadically for one-off concerts plus they have supported name bands such as Primal Scream and Luna. Outstanding albums include Ghost Transmissions, Atlantis Regrets Nothing, Ceduna, Dark Magic and Pleasure Maps.

Artist Website:

Featured Albums: The Sand Pebbles

Listen on Apple Music

Share this Page